Health and Medical Informatics

Health and Medical Informatics is concerned with all aspects of understanding and promoting the effective organization, analysis, management, and use of information in health care. The emphasis in the informatics program is on health information technology.

 

Medical Informatics has traditionally supported acute care in hospitals via development and deployment of electronic medical records. Health Informatics is a newer term including information management for chronic care in homes, particularly development and deployment of personal health records.

This Area supports students in areas related to healthcare infrastructure, particularly population management of everyday chronic conditions. It includes national healthcare infrastructure, such as development of portable health records. We will also support students who wish to investigate public health, such as population management of infectious disease epidemiology.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students

NameEmailDepartment Bruce Schatz schatz@uiuc.edu Medical Info. Science

NameEmailDepartment Alfred Roca roca@illinois.edu Animal Sciences Sandra Rodriguez-Zas rodrgzzs@illinois.edu Animal Sciences Charu Kumar cgkumar@illinois.edu Bioengineering Huimin Zhao zhao5@illinois.edu Chemistry Jeni jeni@illinois.edu Chez Veterans Center Leona Yi-Fan Su lyfsu@illinois.edu College of Media Janet Thorlton thorlton@illinois.edu College of Nursing- UIC Jodi Flaws jflaws@illinois.edu Comparative Biosciences John Hart jch@illinois.edu Computer Science Julia Hockenmaier juliahmr@illinois.edu Computer Science Hanghang Tong htong@illinois.edu Computer Science Tao Xie taoxie@illinois.edu Computer Science Chengxiang Zhai czhai@illinois.edu Computer Science Donald Bullock dbullock@illinois.edu Crop Sciences Gustavo Caetano-Anolles gca@illinois.edu Crop Sciences Steven Clough sjclough@illinois.edu Crop Sciences Stephen Long slong@illinois.edu Crop Sciences Lila Vodkin l-vodkin@illinois.edu Crop Sciences Dan Morrow dgm@illinois.edu Educational Psychology Gene Robinson generobi@illinois.edu Entomology/Institute for Genomic Biology Hannah Holscher hholsche@illinois.edu Food Science & Human Nutrition Zeynep Madak-Erdogan zmadake2@illinois.edu Food Science & Human Nutrition Margarita Teran-Garcia teranmd@illinois.edu Food Sciences and Human Nutrition Mei-Po Kwan mkwan@illinois.edu Geography Thierry Guigma tguigma@illinois.edu Informatics Keith Jacobs Jr. kjaco4@illinois.edu Informatics Brandi Smith brandis2@illinois.edu Informatics David Thomas ddt3@illinois.edu Informatics Charles Roseman croseman@illinois.edu Integrative Biology Catherine Blake clblake@illinois.edu iSchool Ian Brooks ianb@illinois.edu iSchool Jessie Chin chin5@illinois.edu iSchool Jing Rui He jingrui@illinois.edu iSchool Halil Kilicoglu halil@illinois.edu iSchool Eunice Santos eesantos@illinois.edu iSchool Jodi Schneider jodi@illinois.edu iSchool JooYoung jseo1005@illinois.edu iSchool Linda Smith lcsmith@illinois.edu iSchool Dong Wang dwang24@illinois.edu iSchool Soyoung Choi soyoung@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health Manuel Hernandez mhernand@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health Hyojung Kang hyokang@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health Sean Mullen spmullen@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health Wendy Rogers wendyr@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health Chung-Yi chiucy@illinois.edu Kinesiology and Community Health Shannon Mejía stmejia@illinois.edu Kinesiology and Community Health Lisa Stubbs ljstubbs@illinois.edu MCB Bruce Schatz schatz@uiuc.edu Medical Info. Science Gary Olsen gary@life.illinois.edu Microbiology Schuyler Korban korban@illinois.edu NRES Rebecca Smith rlsdvm@illinois.edu Pathobiology Dolores Albarracin dalbarra@illinois.edu Psychology Ron Weigel weigel@illinois.edu VetMed/ Pathobiology

NameEmailArea Thierry Guigma tguigma@illinois.edu Health and Medical Informatics
Keith Jacobs Jr. kjaco4@illinois.edu Health and Medical Informatics
David Thomas ddt3@illinois.edu Health and Medical Informatics

Courses

Application CoursesFoundation Courses

RESEARCH THEMES

  • Healthcare Infrastructure
  • Public Health
  • Population Management of infectious disease epidemiology
  • Population Management of chronic infections
  • Management of care in homes