Data Analytics & Information Visualization

ANALYTICS and VISUALIZATION encompass data management, information retrieval, knowledge analysis, and conceptual understanding in the context of large-scale organizational systems. This Area supports technology-driven applications-oriented students in data mining, information retrieval, machine learning, information visualization, human-computer interaction, intelligent discovery environments, intelligent analysis systems, computational statistics, business analytics, and social and behavioral analytics.

RESEARCH THEMES

  • Human-Computer Relationships
  • Network Analysis
  • Machine Learning
  • Augmented Reality
  • Data-Mining
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Analytics and Visualization encompass data management, information retrieval, knowledge analysis, and conceptual understanding in the context of large-scale organizational systems.

    This Area supports technology-driven applications-oriented students in data mining, information retrieval, machine learning, information visualization, human-computer interaction, intelligent discovery environments, intelligent analysis systems, computational statistics, business analytics, and social and behavioral analytics.

    People

    Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students

    NameEmailDepartment Leon Hounnou hounnou2@illinois.edu Douglas Simpson dgs@illinois.edu Statistics

    NameEmailDepartment Vic Anand vanand@illinois.edu Accountancy Robert Brunner bigdog@illinois.edu Accountancy Theodore Sougiannis sougiani@illinois.edu Accountancy Joseph Yun jtyun@illinois.edu Accountancy Laura Shackelford llshacke@illinois.edu Anthropology Ben Grosser grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design Paul Jensen pjens@illinois.edu Bioengineering Unnati Narang unnati@illinois.edu Business Administration Mani Golparvar-Fard mgolpar@illinois.edu CEE Arthur Schmidt aschmidt@uiuc.edu CEE Christopher Tessum ctessum@illinois.edu CEE Lei Zhao leizhao@illinois.edu Civil & Environmental Engineering Gabrielle Allen gdallen@illinois.edu College of Education Jacob Fisher jtfisher@illinois.edu College of Media Sang-Hwa Oh sanghwa2@illinois.edu College of Media Leona Yi-Fan Su lyfsu@illinois.edu College of Media Janet Thorlton thorlton@illinois.edu College of Nursing- UIC Adam Bates batesa@illinois.edu Computer Science Matthew Caesar caesar@illinois.edu Computer Science Kevin Chang kcchang@illinois.edu Computer Science David Forsyth daf@illinois.edu Computer Science John Hart jch@illinois.edu Computer Science Julia Hockenmaier juliahmr@illinois.edu Computer Science Karrie Karahalios kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science Svetlana Lazebnik slazebni@illinois.edu Computer Science Aditya Parameswaran adityagp@illinois.edu Computer Science Paris Smaragdis paris@illinois.edu Computer Science Hanghang Tong htong@illinois.edu Computer Science Gang Wang gangw@illinois.edu Computer Science Tao Xie taoxie@illinois.edu Computer Science Yizhou Yu yyz@illinois.edu Computer Science Chengxiang Zhai czhai@illinois.edu Computer Science Alexander Lipka alipka@illinois.edu Crop Sciences Robb Lindgren robblind@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Luc Paquette lpaq@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Michael Tissenbaum miketiss@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Nathan Castillo nathanc@illinois.edu Education Policy, Organization & Leadership Cynthia D’Angelo cdangelo@illinois.edu Educational Psychology William Gropp wgropp@illinois.edu Electrical & Computer Engineering Volodymyr kindrtnk@illinois.edu Electrical & Computer Engineering Umberto Ravaioli ravaioli@illinois.edu Electrical & Computer Engineering Gabi Popescu gpopescu@illinois.edu Electrical & Computer Engineering & Bioengineering John Gallagher johng@illinois.edu English Zeynep Madak-Erdogan zmadake2@illinois.edu Food Science & Human Nutrition W. Brooke Elliott wbe@illinois.edu Gies College of Business Catherine Blake clblake@illinois.edu iSchool Nigel Bosch pnb@illinois.edu iSchool Jana Diesner jdiesner@illinois.edu iSchool David Dubin ddubin@illinois.edu iSchool Jing Rui He jingrui@illinois.edu iSchool Merinda Hensley mhensle1@illinois.edu iSchool Yun Huang yunhuang@illinois.edu iSchool Halil Kilicoglu halil@illinois.edu iSchool Eunice Santos eesantos@illinois.edu iSchool Jodi Schneider jodi@illinois.edu iSchool JooYoung jseo1005@illinois.edu iSchool Vetle Torvik vtorvik@illinois.edu iSchool Michael Twidale twidale@illinois.edu iSchool Dong Wang dwang24@illinois.edu iSchool Yang Wang yvw@illinois.edu iSchool Hyojung Kang hyokang@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health Shannon Mejía stmejia@illinois.edu Kinesiology and Community Health Brian Deal deal@illinois.edu Landscape Architecture George Francis gfrancis@illinois.edu Math Bruce Schatz schatz@uiuc.edu Medical Info. Science Daniel Katz dskatz@illinois.edu NCSA Tatsuya Sakurahara sakurah2@illinois.edu Nuclear, Plasma & Radiological Engineering Zahra Mohaghegh zahra13@illinois.edu Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering Amy Marshall-Colon amymc@illinois.edu Plant Biology Surangi Punyasena punyasena@life.illinois.edu Plant Biology Wendy Cho wendycho@illinois.edu Political Science Xiaohui Chen xhchen@illinois.edu Statistics Yuguo Chen yuguo@illinois.edu Statistics Steven Culpepper sculpepp@illinois.edu Statistics Jeff Douglas jeffdoug@illinois.edu Statistics Naveen Narisetty naveen@illinois.edu Statistics Douglas Simpson dgs@illinois.edu Statistics Dave Zhao sdzhao@illinois.edu Statistics Susu Zhang szhan105@illinois.edu Statistics & Psychology Christopher Prom prom@illinois.edu University Library

    NameEmailArea Eamon Bracht ebracht2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Lin Guo linguo4@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Mohit Gupta mohitg2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Moazam Hakim mihakim2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Design, Technology and Society
    Spatial Informatics
    Colleen Heinemann heinmnn2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Leon Hounnou hounnou2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Xiaotong Hu xh9@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Design, Technology and Society
    Jamshed Kaikaus kaikaus2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Het Patel hpate63@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Angela Rhodes afike2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Janina Sarol mjsarol@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Yilin Tang yiliut2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Sam Walkow swalkow2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Design, Technology and Society
    Elizabeth Wickes wickes1@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Bradley Woodruff bsw@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Jaemin Yang Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Xiujia Yang xiujiay2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Tali Zacks tzacks2@illlinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Jingfang Zhang jzhng170@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

    Courses